# Adelie Hurley – Australia’s first female Press Photographer

Adelie Hurley was my aunt, twin to my mother, Antoinette – I liked her heaps – fun, talented, encouraging and naughty. Her father was Frank Hurley, photographer – my grandfather  – I’ll get to him in another post – and she followed firstly in his footsteps and then made her own. I so miss her.

My tribute in photos – yes you may use them – a note to say so would be appreciated.

“Adelie Hurley, 1919-2010

Many assumed Adelie ”Front Page” Hurley, the nation’s’ first female press photographer and daughter of Antarctic and World War I and II photographer Frank Hurley, simply followed in her father’s footsteps. But that was not quite the case. With determination, talent and initiative she forged her own career and, in doing so, paved the way for female photojournalists in Australia.”

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/national/obituaries/pioneer-in-female-photojournalism-20100318-qi6j.html#ixzz1lsEiaaHT

~ by juliebyrnes on February 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “# Adelie Hurley – Australia’s first female Press Photographer”

  1. Thank you for sharing the photos of your aunt Adelie Hurley. I have copied three of them to illustrate a talk on the History of Australian Photography that I am giving to a local U3A group. Incidentally, I am the granddaughter of another well known australian photographer – Harold Cazneaux..

Leave a Reply

 
